16 European countries accept Covishield as an entry vaccine

 In News

IOE Update: As a result of the European Medicines Agency’s (EMA) decision to exclude it from its “vaccine passport” program, which allows people to travel in and out of Europe freely, the approval comes at a reasonable time. According to an analysis by Health Policy Watch, nearly half of the 31 European countries that use the ECU Union’s new digital COVID travel certificate have recognized the Covishield vaccine, which is manufactured in India, alongside its European-made counterpart, Vaxzevria. Others, including important countries such as France, Poland, and Italy, appear to be holding out, approving only vaccines that have been approved by the European Medicines Agency, according to reports. France, Poland, and Italy are among those who have resisted (EMA).

The 15 countries that have adopted more progressive policies include Austria, Bulgaria, Finland, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Latvia, Netherlands, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden. Belgium also announced Wednesday that it might recognize the Covishield vaccine – excellent news for vaccine advocates within the Democratic Republic of Congo – which has been one of the foremost vaccine-hesitant countries so far. Among the four ECU Trade Association (EFTA) members that align with EU policies, Iceland and Switzerland also accept Covishield vaccines for travel. 

Health Policy Watch found that only 10 out of the 31 EU/EFTA countries have fully implemented World All eight vaccines that have been granted a WHO Emergency Use Listing are recognized as valid for entry into the European Union by non-European visitors on “non-essential” trips, according to the recommendations of the Health Assembly. Following a country-by-country examination of the most recent changes in travel policies, they include Finland, Germany, Latvia, the Netherlands, Hungary, Spain, Sweden, and Iceland and Switzerland. Finland, Germany, Latvia, the Netherlands, Hungary, Spain, Sweden. As a result, rather than a unified response, the EU COVID pass has triggered a cacophony of different policies in different countries.

When a vaccine “Does not correspond to at least one centrally authorized vaccine within the EU,” EU spokesperson Stefan de Keersmaecker told Health Policy Watch in remarks published last week that “each Member State has the option to recognize” the vaccination. When asked if the EU might at some point in the future consider implementing a regional policy for Covishield or the other three WHO-approved vaccines, the spokesperson declined to provide any additional information, citing confidentiality concerns.

Covishield, the AstraZeneca Covid vaccine manufactured by the Serum Institute of India in Pune for international travel, has been approved by French authorities for use in international travel. Adding France to a list of countries that have approved the use of Covishield for international travel, which already includes the United Kingdom, Australia, and New Zealand, Covishield has now gained widespread acceptance.

Covishield is used to prevent the spread of the Covid virus. It is the 16th EU member state to identify the vaccine for inclusion in the EU green pass, allowing travellers to enter the EU amid the COVID-19 pandemic. ‘It is indeed welcome news for travellers that Covishield is now recognized as a suitable vaccine for entry into 16 European countries, which is a significant step forward. Despite this, entry requirements may differ from one country to the next, even if you have received your vaccinations “, As stated by Adar Poonawalla, Chief Executive Officer at the Serum Institute of India.

Therefore, when Covishield was approved, it did so at a time when the company was barred from participating in the European Medicines Agency’s (EMA) “vaccine passport” programme, which allows people to freely travel within and outside of the European Union (EU). In other words, Indians who have received Covishield vaccinations are unlikely to qualify for the European Union’s “Green Pass” program, which will be implemented on Dominion Day in 2021.

The following is a comprehensive list of countries around the World that have recognized Covishield for international travel:

  • France,
  • Germany, 
  • Slovenia, 
  • Austria, 
  • Greece, 
  • Ireland, 
  • Estonia, 
  • Spain, 
  • Iceland, 
  • Netherlands, 
  • Afghanistan, 
  • Antigua and Barbuda, 
  • Argentina, Bahrain, 
  • Bangladesh, 
  • Barbados, 
  • Bhutan, 
  • Bolivia (Plurinational State of), 
  • Botswana, 
  • Brazil, 
  • Abo Verde, 
  • Canada, 
  • Ivory Coast, 
  • Tonga, 
  • Dominica, 
  • Egypt, 
  • Ukraine, 
  • Ethiopia, 
  • Ghana, 
  • Grenada, 
  • Suriname, 
  • Hungary, 
  • Jamaica, 
  • Lebanon, 
  • Maldives, 
  • Morocco, 
  • Namibia,
  • Nepal, 
  • South Africa, 
  • Nigeria, 
  • Saint Christopher and Nevis Saint 
  • Lucia, 
  • Saint Vincent and therefore the Grenadines,
  • Seychelles, 
  • The Solomon Islands, 
  • Somalia, 
  • Sri Lanka, 
  • The Bahamas,
  • Trinidad and Tobago.

Recommended Posts

Leave a Comment

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search

The US relaxes travel sanctions on IndiaCanada-Travel-Update-Easing-of-Travel-Restrictions